Open Menu
Open Menu

Hemmings Web Editor Daniel Strohl recognized at Automotive Heritage Awards

Published in

Web Editor Daniel Strohl’s comprehensive story on the construction and fates of the John Graham-designed factories that Ford built across North America to assemble the Ford Model T took a category-winning award in the annual Automotive Heritage Journalism Awards over the weekend.

The award, a gold in the Best Automotive Heritage Facility Story category, was one of 32 awards across nine categories that the AHA handed out at the Concours d’Elegance of America at the Inn at St. John’s in Plymouth, Michigan. Other category winners included Karl Ludvigsen for Best Automotive Heritage Book for Reid Railton: Man of Speed; Lyn Woodward for Best Heritage Travel/Adventure Story for her story on the Rebelle Rally in The Drive; and Graham Kozak for Best Heritage Personality Profile for his story on Ralph Lauren for Autoweek.

Founded by Steve Purdy last year as a replacement for the International Society for Vehicle Preservation’s International Automotive Media Competition, the Automotive Heritage Awards recognizes the best writing on topics related to automotive history published in any format in the prior calendar year. A jury of more than 20 automotive journalists, headed by former Car & Driver editor-in-chief Csaba Csere, selected this year’s winners.

In addition to the journalism awards, the Automotive Heritage Awards also hands out honors for lifetime achievement, future collectible vehicle of the year, and concept vehicle of the year. Those awards went to Don Sherman, the 2018 Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat Redeye, and the Infiniti Q Inspiration, respectively.

For the full list of this year’s Automotive Heritage Journalism Award winners, visit