Open Menu
Open Menu

Sports car, CART and NASCAR star Scott Pruett receives 2018 Justice Brothers-Shav Glick Award

Published in

Ed Justice, Jr. (L) and Scott Pruett. Photo courtesy Justice Brothers, Inc.

In a racing career that spanned five decades, Scott Pruett earned countless wins, poles and podiums, along with championships in professional karting, SCCA Trans-Am, IMSA GTO, and Grand-Am. Before he retired at the conclusion of the 2018 Rolex 24 at Daytona, he’d amassed five victories in the legendary endurance race as well, and now Pruett can add one more accolade to his resume: the 2018 Justice Brothers-Shav Glick Award.

Sponsored by Justice Brothers, Inc., a manufacturer of car care products and industrial cleaners and lubricants, the honor has been awarded annually since 2000. Named in part for Shav Glick, a motorsport writer for the Los Angeles Times – and the first writer for a general circulation daily newspaper to be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, in 1994 – the award honors those who’ve made distinguished contributions to a variety of motorsports in California

Glick, who died in 2007 at the age of 87, earned his first byline at age 14 and covered other sports for 34 years before turning to racing, which he documented for an additional 37 years. Mario Andretti said of Glick, “He was the authority. You wanted to be noticed by Shav Glick.”

Pruett began racing karts in 1968, at age eight, long before the sport was seen as a requisite stepping stone to a professional career in motorsports. In the 1980s, after earning 10 professional karting championships, Pruett switched to cars, taking his first victory in 1986, the same year he won his first of two IMSA GTO Championships. The following year, 1987, the California native won his first of three SCCA Trans-Am championships, but further proof of his versatility as a driver came at the 1989 Indianapolis 500, where Pruett finished 10th, splitting Rookie of the Year honors with Bernard Jourdain.

Pruett spent a season in NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Series, later standing in for teams as a road course specialist. Endurance racing was his forte, however, and his five 24 Hours of Daytona wins were backed up by class and overall wins at Sebring, as well as a class win in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. He was inducted into the World Karting Hall of Fame in 1991 and the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in 2017.

Others nominated for this year’s Justice Brothers-Shav Glick Award were off-road racer Curt LeDuc, NASCAR driver Mike Skinner, and five-time AMA Motocross Champion Jeff Ward. Past recipients include Craig Breedlove, Ed Iskendarian, Tommy Kendall, Bill Simpson, Mickey Thompson, Jeff Gordon, Robert E. Petersen, Kenny Roberts, Frank Kurtis, John Force, Don Prudhomme, Phil Hill and Carroll Shelby, J.C. Agajanian, Les Richter, Rick Mears, Parnelli Jones, Wally Parks, and Dan Gurney.