Open Menu
Open Menu

Indiana Grand – The AACA Grand National hosted another impressive display of outstanding collector cars and trucks

Published in

Winner of the 2019 Zenith Award went to this spectacularly restored 1931 Buick 8-94 Sport Roadster owned by David and Susan Landow from Bethesda, Maryland and restored by John Fields of Columbus, Ohio. Photography by author.

Every year it’s a given that the Grand National meet put on by the Antique Automobile Club of America will be a show not to be missed, and this year’s gathering in Auburn, Indiana, didn’t disappoint.

1960 Chevrolet Corvette

Blackwall tires and white coves make this 1960 solid axle Corvette a standout among its peers; it belongs to Ronald Horak from Latrobe, Pennsylvania.


Owned since 1974, Thomas Mirro from Tennent, New Jersey, showed his stunning 1956 Ford Thunderbird which he restored himself.


1957 Jaguar XK140

From 1954 to 1957 Jaguar built only 2,740 XK 140 drophead coupes; this 1957 model belongs to Susan Wenderski of Lake Forest, Illinois.

What’s most interesting about an AACA Grand National is the diversity of cars on display. Pre- and postwar, brass-era, European sports cars, muscle cars, and vintage trucks, too, with nearly every make being represented. The show field was on the grounds of Auburn’s Auction Park, and the event coincided with RM Sotheby’s spring auction. Between the AACA’s 400-plus show cars and the hundreds of cars going across the block, it was one big collector-car spectacular.

It was a real treat to see not one but two 1938 MGs on display. The gray MG VA Tickford is owned by Bob and Donna Hanselman from Woodstock, Illinois, and the light yellow MG TA by James Wulf, Doylestown, Pennsylvania.


1933 International

Several prewar pick-up trucks were in attendance including this fantastic 1933 International D-1 belonging to Leo Zapotok of White Haven, Pennsylvania.


1942 Lincoln Zephyr

One of the rarest cars on display was this 1942 Lincoln Zephyr V-12, one of only 191 built; it’s owned by John Sweet of Uniontown, Pennsylvania.


1931 Chrysler CM6 roadster

Richard McFadden from South Haven, Michigan, brought down his outstanding 1931 Chrysler CM6 Roadster; its bright blue coachwork made it very popular with those in attendance.

The show was held on Saturday, with Friday set aside for the judging of the Zenith Award. Now in its third year, the Zenith Award was created to honor the best restored car – or truck – of the year, with points being scored from the previous year’s meets. As one of the guest judges, having to choose one car from a group of 16 top-shelf candidates was truly a tough task. But in the end, the voting was unanimous, with the Zenith Award given to a spectacular 1931 Buick 8-94 Sport Roadster owned by David and Susan Landow from Bethesda, Maryland. The award itself is a 20-inch tall multi-faceted crystal sculpture, and the same design (albeit in smaller form) was given to the 15 runner-ups.

1936 Packard 102-B

The deep gray exterior of this 1936 Packard 102-B lends it a stately appeal that is hard not to admire; it’s owned by Daryl Timko from Fowler, Ohio.


1927 Cadillac 314-A

James Schmidt, owner of National Parts Depot, came up from Ocala, Florida with his ultra-rare 1927 Cadillac 314-A Roadster, one of only three known to exist.


1989 Buick LeSabre

Thanks to owner Alan Oldfield of Center Point, Iowa, we were able to view this sinister looking 1989 Buick LeSabre, one of the rarest T-Types ever built.

If you’ve never attended an AACA Grand National meet you must add it to your bucket list, especially the 2020 meet which will be held on the grounds of The NB Center for American Automotive Heritage in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Between the AACA show cars and the incredible collection of restored American cars belonging to Nicola Bulgari, this is shaping up to be one of those rare events that everyone will be talking about for years to come – you really don’t want to miss it. If you’re not already a member of the AACA, you need to join, so visit their website for all the details:

1940 Plymouth PT-105, owned by Larry Jenkins.


1936 De Soto S2 Airflow, owned by Richard McFadden.


1922 Haynes 75, owned by Jeff Griffin.


1921 Marmon 34B, owned by Jack Rans.


1936 Auburn, owned by Richard Dove.


1923 Studebaker Light Six, owned by Scott and Susan Mrdeza.


1929 Nash 421 Phaeton, owned by Richard Cannon.


1958 BMW Isetta 600, owned by Larry Pope, and 1957 BMW Isetta (red) owned by Michael McCloskey.


1963 Volkswagen Type 2, owned by John Hedeen.


1974 Suzuki GT185, Dick Feightner.


1957 Volkswagen Karmann-Ghia, owned by Richard Reischman.


1916 Chevrolet H-2 ½ Royal Mail Special Roadster, owned by John Tress.


1930 Chrysler Model 70 Royal Coupe, owned by Tim and Julia Wolfe.


1958 Studebaker President, owned by Mark James.


1967 Opel Kadett, owned by Gaye Liddick.


1947 Chevrolet Fleetline Sport Master, owned by Richard Black.


1930 Packard 7-45, owned by Kent Marburger.


1931 Buick 91, owned by Roy Hardin.


1937 Cord 812 SC, owned by Ron Thomas.


1972 Chevrolet Monte Carlo, owned by John Gilliam.


1960 Chevrolet Corvette, owned by Kimberly Porter.


1969 Dodge Super Bee, owned by Glenn Randall.


1957 Chevrolet Nomad, owned by Joe Wurm.


1959 Buick LeSabre, owned by William Reinholtz.


1958 Chevrolet Impala, owned by Bernie Tucker.