Open Menu
Open Menu

Roger Penske to receive prestigious Argetsinger award

Published in

It’s been 50 years since Team Penske, as it’s known today, first came into existence. That’s one number you need to know. The others are 16, for the number of Indianapolis 500 wins it can claim; 170, its total number of IndyCar wins, 13, its number of season championships in American open-wheel racing; 28, for its total number of series championships in a variety of disciplines; and you can also throw in a pair of Daytona 500 wins and a NASCAR Sprint Cup title. The race teams that Roger Penske organized have won in every form of motorsport they’ve tackled, from sports cars to Formula 1. Their record of victories and championships is unassailable.

That’s why Penske, the global transportation magnate, has been selected to receive the Cameron R. Argetsinger Award for Outstanding Contributions to Motorsports, to be presented by the International Motor Racing Research Center of Watkins Glen, New York. The award is named in honor of an early advocate of sports car racing in the United States, both at Watkins Glen and elsewhere. The award will be presented at a testimonial dinner set for June 30 at the Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, New York, with proceeds going to support the non-profit research center. For more information, visit